POPSUGAR Love & Sex

Bookmark March's Best New Books

Mar 30 2014 - 6:00am

Gird your loins — this month's new reads are here, and they're hankering for a spot on your bookshelf or Kindle. I scoured the books out in March to find the most irresistible page-turners, and there's a little something for everyone — including some new love stories for readers who hate the genre [1]. There's a celebrity-endorsed motivational book, a history of sex and scandal in the Gilded Age, a story described as "if the Brontë sisters had penned magical realism," and more. Check them out now, and for even more great new releases, take a look at POPSUGAR Entertainment's must reads [2]!

I Am That Girl: How to Speak Your Truth, Discover Your Purpose, and #bethatgirl

We interviewed Alexis Jones, founder of the I Am That Girl movement [3] and author of I Am That Girl: How to Speak Your Truth, Discover Your Purpose, and #bethatgirl [4], when the book was exclusively sold at Claire's, but this month is its wide release. Sure stars like Kristen Bell [5] and Sophia Bush support the movement, but I was more impressed with Alexis's own words on female empowerment: "What I find is that when you give a girl something bigger than herself to fight for, her life is made better."

Out March 18

Gemini

Carol Cassella's novel Gemini [6] had me at its beautiful cover. Just kidding, sort of. What really drew me to this medical mystery meets love story was an endorsement from Where'd You Go Bernadette? author Maria Semple: "Once again, Carol Cassella has written a novel full of gorgeously rendered characters, fascinating medical detail, and tour de force plot twists. From its gripping first pages straight through to its stunning conclusion, Gemini is an unforgettable novel — a morality tale, a mystery, and a love story that will leave readers breathless."

Out March 4

A Circle of Wives

Alice LaPlante's psychological thriller A Circle of Wives [7] explores the mysteries of trust, love, and jealousy as it follows detectives solving the murder of a closeted polygamist whose three wives didn't know about each other. Juicy!

Out March 4

Shotgun Lovesongs

Nickolas Butler's novel Shotgun Lovesongs [8] tells the story of four childhood friends reuniting in their hometown for a wedding [9]. Now they must navigate the complexities of adult friendships, and the heartbreak, stress, and healing that comes with it.

Out March 11

I've Never Been to Vegas, but My Luggage Has: Mishaps and Miracles on the Road to Happily Ever After

Mandy Hale, blogger and author of The Single Woman: Life, Love, and a Dash of Sass, returns with her advice-filled memoir I've Never Been to Vegas, but My Luggage Has: Mishaps and Miracles on the Road to Happily Ever After [10]. With a dash of humor, Mandy shares true tales from her life of love lost and found and how she found her own version of "happily ever after."

Out March 11

Tempting Fate

In her novel Tempting Fate [11], author Jane Green follows a woman who seems to be in the perfect relationship but finds herself more and more emotionally invested in a friendship that threatens to unravel her marriage.

Out March 25

The Scarlet Sisters: Sex, Suffrage, and Scandal in the Gilded Age

Myra MacPherson's The Scarlet Sisters: Sex, Suffrage, and Scandal in the Gilded Age [12] tells the true story of two sisters who threatened the patriarchy of 19th century America with their brazen attitudes in defense of women's equality. Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Ellen Goodman said this: "If the Scarlet Sisters hadn't existed, feminism would have had to invent them. Myra MacPherson writes the story of these fearless and path-breaking 19th-century radicals with her trademark energy and wit. This sisterhood is indeed powerful."

Out March 4

The Midnight Witch

A young witch in Edwardian England must choose between her love of an outsider and loyalty to her coven and family in Paula Brackston's paranormal love story The Midnight Witch [13]. The Guardian writes, "If the Brontë sisters had penned magical realism, this would have been the result."

Out March 25

The Divorce Papers

The Divorce Papers [14] by Susan Rieger is a romantic comedy about a female lawyer handling her first divorce case — and a messy, disasterous one at that. Fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette? will recognize the format, as it's also told through personal correspondence, office memos, emails, articles, and legal papers.

Out March 18

Power Play

Danielle Steel is back with the romantic novel Power Play [15] about two successful CEOs dealing with family drama, the sacrifices of success, and the complications of relationships.

Out March 11

Veil of Time

Claire R. McDougall's historical fiction Veil of Time [16] is a time-travelling love story about a woman caught between modern-day and ancient Scotland.

Out March 11

Shadow Spell

Nora Roberts's romantic suspense novel Shadow Spell [17] is the second book in The Cousins O'Dwyer Trilogy after Dark Witch [18]. Set in Ireland, it's a haunting story of family, home, and love.

Out March 25


Source URL
http://www.tressugar.com/Best-Books-Women-March-2014-34209676